Gabrielle Matouk

Interview on November 11th, 2006

Name: Gabi Matouk16

Date of Birth: 22nd December, 1985

What is your favourite colour?
It really depends on the context. Orange is my favourite colour to look at, but I’d never wear it. In clothing, I gravitate towards blue and black. When I paint, I love the effects of green. It’s impossible for me to choose just one.

Favourite artist(s)… local or otherwise?
Roberta Stoddart, a local artist, is a tremendous inspiration to me. In the non-local sphere, I admire Egon Shiele, Frida Kahlo, Lucien Freud, and Andrew Wyeth. They are (or were, in the case of Kahlo and Schiele) portrait painters, each with a completely different and yet ingenius approach to the human subject.

In a nutshell, what do you do?… what medium… and how would you describe your genre?…
People are my subject of choice. My work almost always includes the human form in one way or another. It’s difficult for me to choose a “genre” because I’m still exploring so much in terms of my mediums and style. So far, I have dabbled in drawing, painting, sculpture, digital design, and non-digital photography. I am most comfortable with paint, especially oils, and it seems to be the direction that I’m taking in building up a portfolio of work.

How did you first get an interest in art?
I don’t recall ever “getting” an interest in art, because it seems to have always been part of my life…ever since I could hold a pencil.

Where/How did you learn?
I began formally studying artistic technique in secondary school, at St. Joseph’s Convent POS to be specific. I did O-Level and A-Level Art, and now I’m pursuing my Bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts at University.

A brief history of your career…
Currently, I am still a student, so my “career”, if we can call it that, is and has always been one of learning and development. I think the next 3-4 years will be very telling.

What are some of your current art projects, personal or otherwise?
My focus is currently on the work that I’ve been completing for my various art classes, with some research and a little bit of independent work on the side.

What are some of your upcoming projects, personal or otherwise?
I hope to spend my next summer vacation developing an independent body of work in Trinidad, focusing on Trinidadian identity and heritage.

Hobbies?… What do you do for kicks?
I explore Philadelphia, which is my current home. I also read, and in my spare time I try to squeeze in a little bit of socializing.

What’s your favourite food?
Calalloo. What else?

If you could be any animal, what animal would you be and why?
If you could cross a horse, a bird, and a dolphin, that’s what I’d be. That way, I could make the most of the land, the sky, and the sea.

Okay and finally… what are your long term career/life ambitions?
To make a positive difference somehow and somewhere, and hopefully through art.

Many thanks… anything else you’d like to add?
Thank you, it was a pleasure.

Based on a November 11th, 2006 interview. View some of Gabrielle’s past work.

— Posted on Saturday 11th November, 2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *